Our Board Members

The Board of the NLC is appointed by the Minister of Trade and Industry and hold office for a period of five years, after which they may be reappointed.


Current members of the National Lotteries Commission (NLC) took office in December 2009 then known as the National Lotteries Board (NLB).

The board is chaired by Professor Ntshengedzeni Alfred Nevhutanda and consists of the individuals listed below.


Prof Nevhutanda Alfred is a holder of PhDs in Music (UP) and Education (UNISA) and also has been conferred with a Professorship in Environmental Sciences (Eco Energy Academy) amongst various other academic qualifications. He has wide experience in project management and was affiliated to the Department of Roads and Transport as Executive Chairperson of the Operating License Board where he served as Chairperson of All Chairpersons of Operating License Boards in South Africa until 2010. He has also served in the MINMEC as a representative of OLBs to the Minister, MECs and COTO meetings with particular reference to Taxi Recapitalisation project and the transformation of the Taxi and Bus industry. In December 2009, Prof Nevhutanda was appointed as Chairperson of National Lotteries Board. Prior to this Prof served as Member of the Arts, Culture and National Heritage Distributing Agency for 3 years. During his tenure as Chairperson, he has administered no less than R7 billion and distributed no less than R3 billion for good causes. Prof Nevhutanda’s area of expertise is in strategic marketing and deal making; corporate governance; human resources development; and economic development programmes.


Ms Ndileka P Loyilane, from the Eastern Cape is a member of the Commission on Gender Equality and has a passionate interest in the human rights of people with disabilities. Although her first degree was in commerce, her later academic activity led to an MPhil in disability studies. She has worked for or served on the management boards of a range of organisations dedicated to the development of people with disabilities.


Ms Mathukana Mokoka is a qualified Chartered Accountant (South Africa). She obtained her B.Com (Hons) from the University of Natal and her Postgraduate Diploma in Management from the University of Cape Town. She was appointed to the National Lotteries Board in December 2009. She also holds various non-executive directorships, at Autopax Passenger Services (SOC) Ltd, Cummins (Pty) Ltd and Intersite (SOC) Ltd, amongst others. She has extensive experience in strategic & financial management, corporate finance and the deal making environment. With a commitment to and an interest in education, Mathukana is a trustee of Dr Thandi Ndlovu’s Foundation and also a co-founding member of Mbali Ye Nkululeko schools. Mathukana is a member of various professional bodies, including the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants and the Institute of Directors.


Prof Govin Reddy is an academic and media specialist and has held several senior positions in South Africa and overseas. These include Head of the English Service of Inter Press Service (IPS) in Rome and Editor of Africa South magazine in Harare. After his return from exile in 1991, Prof Reddy has been the Deputy Director of the Institute for the Advancement of Journalism, CEO of SABC Radio, CEO of the Mail & Guardian, Director of the Media Leadership Institute at Rhodes University, and India representative of Brand South Africa based in Mumbai. He is Chairperson of the Board of IPS Africaand Visiting Professor in Journalism, University of Stellenbosch and in the Department of Political Science, University of Pretoria. He serves on the Advisory Board of the Centre for Indian Studies at Wits University. Prof Reddy is a past President of the Commonwealth Broadcasting Associationand has served on several media boards, including Print Media South Africa, the Media Institute of Southern Africa and the Southern African Broadcasters Association. He holds a Masters degree in African history from Northwestern University in Chicago.


Ms Kekana holds a B. Proc (UNIN), LLB (VISTA), and a Certificate in Management of Petroleum Policy and Economics (WITS). After being admitted as an attorney in 1994, she assumed various roles in the legal field, and was appointed as an Acting Judge in the South Gauteng High Court from 2006 to 2012. Ms Kekana is one of the founding members of Kekana Hlatshwayo Radebe Incorporated in 2002, and is currently the Managing Director of the firm. Her professional positions previously and currently held include being a member of the Council of the Law Society of the Northern Provinces where she has served on various committees. She is also a member of the E-commerce Committee of the Law Society of South Africa and the Treasurer of the National Executive Committee of Black Lawyers Association. Ms Kekana is an affiliate of the International Bar Association and the South African Women Lawyers Association. Her areas of expertise include amongst others corporate & commercial litigation, arbitration and tribunal hearings; advice and litigation in personal injury matters, insurance law and mediation.

Composition And Appointment Process

The Board consists of a chairperson and a maximum of six other members, of whom one represents the Minister of Trade Industry, one is legal practitioner and one is a chartered accountant.

A maximum of two members of the board may be employees of any sphere of government.


All members of the board are appointed by the Minister of Trade and Industry for a period of up to five years.  The Lotteries Act specifies that the Minister must publish a call for nominations.

Thereafter, the Parliamentary Portfolio Committee on Trade and Industry considers the nominees in a “transparent and open process” before making a recommendation to the Minister on suitable candidates.